Should I be cooking and cleaning for my bf?

My boyfriend and I started dating a few months ago but things got serious really fast. He had just move to a city about an hour away, & his mom hated the idea. He had already been living on his own for about 2 years, but the mom wanted him back in our city & for them to get a house together. She currently lives with her sister, (her sister told me she loves the mom living with her because she’s less lonely) My boyfriend ended up moving back to my city and has been back and forth between telling me he’s going to get his own place and then telling me him and his mom are going to get a place. At first I was understanding to him and his mom living together, until recently he told me that his mom told him I need to start cooking and cleaning for him. I do not live with him, I am a student & he does not pay my bills. I told him until I am a WIFE, I am not doing any of those things & his mom as nice as she is needs to stay out of our relationship. After that incident I am opposed to him living with him mom as we are not going to have the privacy we need & his mom is clearly going to be witnessing everything from our arguments to whether I cooked for him or not, and have an opinion about it. He says he needs to help his mom buy a house, but I don’t understand how her living with him is helping her buy a house when she currently has a roommate who loves her living there. I told him if that’s his final decision that I won’t stay in the relationship because the relationship I want with him requires levels of growth and privacy that we won’t be able to have with his mom down the hall. Am I wrong? What do I do if he decided to live with his mom? I am SO upset.
191 Likes